Nikki and Chris … excerpt from the chapter “Money Trail”

NikkiBlueNikki POV

I showed Chris the check for $25,000.

Nikki: “Could you just say no to this if someone offered it to you?”

Chris Mercer: “Probably not.”

Nikki:Probably not?”

Chris: “Well, I guess I’d want to know who is signing the check before I could, you know, totally accept it and feel great about it,” he said, squinting at the check more closely and making entirely too much sense for my agitated state to handle. “Is that David Michael guy pretty cool?” he had to add, twisting the knife through my gut even further.

Nikki: “No, I’m pretty sure he’s a complete asshole, at best, from my brief interaction with him on Tuesday,” I forced myself to admit. “But he wasn’t the one who made me the offer.”

Chris: “Hmmm.”

If that was the best Mr. Positivity could come up with for a response, I knew I was screwed.

Nikki: “OK. Send a search party if I don’t call you or Steve by this time on Monday,” I said before crashing through the door.

From “Nikki Blue: Source of Trouble”
Pub date: 10-9-15
NetGalley ARC date: Later this week

Leave a Reply

