Nikki and Derek from the chapter “World Cup Breakup”

NikkiBlueNikki’s POV

“Derek, do you find me annoying?” I asked him as I finished washing our dishes and a few of his housemate’s for the third night in a row.

“What?” he mumbled, distracted by the World Cup soccer match on his giant flat screen TV.

I didn’t know who was playing, but I’m pretty sure it wasn’t Team USA. Nevertheless, he was mesmerized by every dizzying kick up and down the field. I knew it was a bad time to talk, but this stupid World Cup tournament was going to last for another month and it seemed like they had matches around the clock. Enough was enough. I wasn’t going to wait until August, especially with his older sister’s wedding coming up and me dreading it for a number of reasons.

“Do you find me annoying?” I asked again, this time right into his ear as I joined him on the sofa.

“Seriously? You’re trying to pick a fight with me right now? While I’m watching Italy and Mexico?” he snapped loudly, not even turning to look at me.

“I’d like you to turn off the TV so we can talk. You’ve got a DVR. You won’t miss one second of it.”

If I wasn’t annoying before, I sure was now, but he turned off the TV and faced with me an unsurprisingly impatient look.

“I mean, it’s not like you have relatives in Italy or Mexico,” I had to point out.

From “Nikki Blue: Source of Trouble”
Pub date: 10-9-15
ARC date: Available now on NetGalley

Leave a Reply

