Nikki and William from the chapter “Loveless Fascination”

NikkiBlueNikki’s POV

“We’re officially assets. Don’t you feel special?” Bill asked.

“Do you? I’m officially paranoid. We’ve got people watching our back now. They could be spying on us right now,” I said.

Bill cringed.

“What about last night?” he asked.

“Do we have to think about that? I loved last night. Don’t ruin it.”

“Cheers to that,” Bill said, clinking his glass into mine.

“I could use some cheers. Christmas was awful. Now this … incident … tonight.”

“What can I do to help?”

I nodded toward his guitar and smiled.

“Any particular request? ‘Crashed My Car Into The Bridge’ again?” he asked with a lovably goofy grin as he grabbed the guitar.

“I so loved that. The perfect song for that stuffy crowd. I love your reckless sense of humor.”

“Thank you.”

“You’re welcome.”

“What’s your listening pleasure?”

“I’m thinking.”

I sipped my wine, looked up and saw a few stars twinkling somewhere over the ocean.

“I’ve got it,” I said.

“What?”

“It’s an old one. Definitely your era, not mine, but I loved it the first time I heard it. Maybe you’ll know it.”

“What song?” he asked.

“Under the Milky Way.”

He squinted, pretending like he didn’t have a clue, but I knew he knew it. He played dumb anyway.

“What band?” he asked.

“The Church,” I said.

“The Church of Jesus Christ and Latter Day Saints?”

“No,” I laughed.

“The Church of Scientology?”

Before I had finishing rolling my eyes, he started playing. And singing. Beautifully. He made his voice deeper just like the original singer. He knew every word. I blushed and sang along with him, at least the words I knew.

“Sometimes when this place gets kind of empty
Sound of their breath fades with the light
I think about the loveless fascination
Under the Milky Way tonight

Lower the curtain down on Miami
Lower the curtain down all night
I got no time for private consultation
Under the Milky Way tonight

Wish I knew what you were looking for
Might have known what you would find
Wish I knew what you were looking for
Might have known what you would find

And it’s something quite peculiar
Something shimmering and white
Leads you here despite your destination
Under the Milky Way tonight”

From “Nikki Blue: Source of Trouble”
Pub date: 10-9-15
ARC date: Available now on NetGalley

Leave a Reply

